THE DROP: GG Recap, New Tommy Lee & Figure Track, Free Ben Samples EP


The evolution of Under The Gun Review continues this week with the third installment of our latest feature, The Drop. Written weekly by resident basshead Jake White, The Drop is your go-to source for weekly electronic/dubstep/techno news!

If you’re an emerging talent in this area or have a news tip you’d like to see featured, contact us! Write with the subject “Drop” and we’ll get you or your news featured as soon as possible!

Happy Friday, Bassheads, and what a filthy fine Friday it is, amirite?

  • So Global Gathering was last weekend, and I didn’t get to go… I’ll get over it, but I just have one question for you: How are your necks?

As you can see, the event was a major success. According to a poll on GG’s Facebook page, Chase & Status were the top performers of the event, followed by Above & Beyond claiming second, and Skrillex in third (as of now).The organization has announced that they still have a ton of leftover merch for sale. All of which can be perused here. Okay, I’m bored with this topic!


I know what you’re really here for, baby birds… Here’s this weeks illest FREE SHIT!


  • Free Song Download: Calvertron – Shitted On Em

[soundcloud url=”″]

Pretty nice bangah right heah from Alex Calver. The Nicki samples are killing it!


  • Free Song Download: Tommy Lee & Figure – Pounds of Blood

[soundcloud url=”″]

I know you can’t believe it, but yes, that’s what I said. Tommy Lee & Figure worked together on this one, and it’s FREE! Even more good news, this isn’t just a one time thing for rock legend Tommy Lee… He’s announced that he and Excision, if you can believe it, are hooking up with Deadmau5 on tour this upcoming fall. Figure is on tour right now, and is planning a fall tour as well. Grab Tommy’s Tour Dates here, and Figure’s here.


  • Free Song Download: Dumbo – Pink Elephants (Cottonmouth’s BDAY Remix Giveaway)

[soundcloud url=”″]

Cottonmouth’s birthday was this week, and to celebrate with his fans he gave this gem away. It’s a jolly good time, and brings us back to the trippy, acid days of our adolescence… right?


  • Free Mix Download: Torqux & Twist – FilthFM mix

[soundcloud url=”″]

We’re Jammin’. I hope you like jammin’ too, cause this free mix is over an hour of filthy dub straight to your head. Big ups Torqux & Twist for hooking us all up with a huge, steaming pile of free listening…. Damn, I just hit the 3:00 minute mark and I am HOOKED.


  • Free EP Download: Samples – Sex, Drugs & Bass

This here is a pretty interesting album. Ben Samples, out of Texas, has been killing the electro circuit for some time now, this is his take on Rock & Roll. I’m telling you, these are some pretty sweet renditions on some old favorites. Download or stream the entire album here. You can also check out Ben’s upcoming show dates here.


  • Free Stream: UKF Bass Culture Mega Mix

This is a ten-minute mixdown of the tracks off of the new UKF release, Bass Culture. Remember, it’s over forty tracks, so if you haven’t purchased this one yet, get on it! You wanna be popular, don’t you?


Last but not least, a bit of news:


  • Trailer: Skrillex – Owsla (or whatever…)

So Skrillex has released this trailer. It has bass, a skinny kid with eyeliner, and filthy teddy bears. I’m not going to be lie, watching this didn’t improve my life… it confused me. I wonder what he’s promoting? Hmm. Anywhoo, there’s supposed to be another trailer on the way- give us something real, Sonny, oh how you tease us!

Seriously though… Weird video, right? Okay my bass-minded friends, that’s all I have rolled out for you this week. As always, skank on, brothers and sisters.

Jake W

Both comments and pings are currently closed.