I See Stars Borrow From Bane For “Can We Start Again;” Announce Digital Mixtape ‘Renegades Forever’

I See Stars

Michigan’s I See Stars have returned to the UTG headlines with the release of a new song and the promise of more to come in the (very) near future.

“Can We Start Again” is the first song to surface from I See Stars since the 2012 release of Digital Renegade. The song, which started as a b-side, features guest vocals from Frankie Palmeri of Emmure and Mattie Montgomery, as well as lyrics from the legendary hardcore group Bane. This is not a cover per se, but rather a reinterpretation of lyrics for the purpose of inspiring a new scene to once again separate the talent from the bullshit. You can stream the single at the end of this post.

In the details included with the Youtube clip hosting “Can We Start Again,” I See Stars revealed plans to release a new digital mixtape on May 28 entitled Renegades Forever. The release will be available through all digital retailers and features unreleased songs and remixes. The full statement from the band reads as follows:

“Can We Start Again” started off as a b-side off our previous album and evolved into much more than that. With help from Sumerian Records and our friends Frankie Palmeri & Mattie Montgomery, it became about a scene that is much like the hallways we walked down as teenagers. We used the iconic lyrics from a song by Bane that changed the scene before bands like us were even around and still holds a place in a lot of hearts. We’re all here to connect through music and to be a part of a movement that embraces open minds and open hearts. Unfortunately, some people choose to thrive off negativity, disunion and narcissism. This song goes out to all our peers and friends who live on the road doing it every single year, but more importantly to all the fans who make this all possible. This is not a song off the forthcoming album. It’s the closing chapter to [digital_renegade] and the opening track to our digital mixtape release titled “Renegades Forever” that comes out May 28th on iTunes, GooglePlay, AmazonMP3 and everywhere else online. The track listing is below. Love & Respect — I SEE STARS

1. Can We Start Again (ft. Frankie Palmeri of EMMURE & Mattie Montgomery of FOR TODAY)
2. Underneath Every Smile (Acoustic Version)
3. This Isn’t A Gameboy
4. The Hardest Mistakes (Popkong mix ft. Cassadee Pope)
5. The Hardest Mistakes Pt 2 (Popkong mix ft. Cassadee Pope)
6. Filth Friends Unite (Celldweller Remix)
7. Gnars Attacks (Mutrix Remix)
8. Electric Forest (Andrew Oliver Remix)
9. NZT48 (Razihel Remix)
10. NZT48 (Razihel Remix Pt 2)
11. Save The Cheerleader (Bare Remix)

James Shotwell

James Shotwell is the founder of Under The Gun Review. He loves writing about music and movies almost as much as he loves his two fat cats. He's also the co-founder of Antique Records and the Marketing Coordinator for Haulix. You should probably follow him on Twitter.

Latest posts by James Shotwell (see all)

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.