Grizzly Bear Releasing ‘Shields’ B-sides and Remixes, Hear Unreleased “Will Calls”


Calling Brooklyn-ites Grizzly Bear modern composers is an understatement. Each one of their songs sees so much stress, labor, and focus in every step of its creation–from writing to recording to production–that it gives me a headache just thinking about it; that is, until I actually listen to the song and fall over swooning. Getting to hear any of their work in the rough stages is rare — but now you can.

After the massive success Grizzly Bear saw with the release of last year’s Shields, they’re getting ready to release an expanded edition full of demos and audio goodies that will make fans giddy. On November 12, a double-CD and 18-track digital album called Shields Expanded will be released through Warp, and it will have a slew of B-sides, remixes, and demos that the band recorded in Marfa, Texas before tracking the proper album (which is also included). Nicolas Jaar and Liars have provided two of the several remixes on the album (see the full tracklist after the jump). The extra tracks can also be purchased on their own, as a 12″ EP or download.

One of the Marfa demos, not on the original album, is online now. The song, called “Will Calls,” is warm with cricket chirps and organic swells, clocking in at seven minutes. Hear “Will Calls” below:

01 “Sleeping Ute”
02 “Speak In Rounds”
03 “Adelma”
04 “Yet Again”
05 “The Hunt”
06 “A Simple Answer”
07 “What’s Wrong”
08 “Gun-Shy”
09 “Half Gate”
10 “Sun In Your Eyes”
11 “Smothering Green” (Bonus Track)
12 “Taken Down” (Marfa Demo)
13 “Listen And Wait” (Bonus Track)
14 “Everyone I Know” (Marfa Demo)
15 “Will Calls” (Marfa Demo)
16 “Sleeping Ute (Nicolas Jaar Remix)”
17 “A Simple Answer (Liars Remix)”
18 “Gun-Shy (Lindstrøm Remix)”

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.