Nas To Release 20th Anniversary Edition Of ‘Illmatic’ & Perform Entire Album On Upcoming Tour


That’s right, Nas has announced that his explosive debut album, Illmatic, will be hitting shelves once again for its 20th anniversary. The reissue, which has been titled Illmatic XX, will not only contain a fully remastered version of the original album, it will also contain a bonus disc with demos, freestyles and remixes. Illmatic XX will hit stores April 15, and the full tracklist can be viewed below the jump.

In addition to the reissue, a documentary titled Time is Illmatic is expected to be released later this year. The documentary follows the making of Illmatic, including Nas’ life experiences that led him to create his music. In support of the release, he will be embarking on a world tour, and will be performing Illmatic in full. More details to come on the tour dates and musical support.

You can listen to one of the new tracks, which is “It Ain’t Hard To Tell” (Stint Mix), by heading to Rap Genius. If you dig what you hear, you can pre-order the album here.

Disc 1: Remastered original album
01 The Genesis
02 N.Y. State Of Mind
03 Life’s A Bitch
04 The World Is Yours
05 Halftime
06 Memory Lane (Sittin’ In Da Park)
07 One Love
08 One Time 4 Your Mind
09 Represent
10 It Ain’t Hard To Tell

Disc 2: Demos, Remixes & Live Radio
01 I’m A Villain (previously unreleased)
02 The Stretch Armstrong and Bobbito Show on WKCR October 28, 1993 (previously unreleased freestyle)
03 Halftime (Butcher Remix)
04 It Ain’t Hard To Tell (Remix) (promo single)
05 One Love (LG Main Mix)
06 Life’s A Bitch (Arsenal Mix) (promo single)
07 One Love (One L Main Mix)
08 The World Is Yours (Tip Mix)
09 It Ain’t Hard To Tell (The Stink Mix) (UK single)
10 It Ain’t Hard To Tell (The Laidback Remix) (UK single)

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.