Hamilton Leithauser (The Walkmen) Announces Solo Album Release Date, Shares “Alexandra” Music Video

Hamilton Leithauser Alexandra Video

The Walkmen threw out news of their hiatus at the end of last year, seemingly out of nowhere considering how well their 2012 LP Heaven did. Now the band’s frontman, Hamilton Leithauser, has announced the upcoming release of his debut solo album as well as a music video for the lead single.

The album, titled Black Hours, is out May 6 on Ribbon Music, and “Alexandra” will be out as a 7″ single with non-album B-side “In The Shallows” on Record Store Day.

Directed by Tristan Patterson, the music video for “Alexandra” is a dolled-up, jazzy, black tie affair, with Leithauser totally owning it. At first the single seems too bright for him, and maybe that’s because Vampire Weekend’s Rostam Batmanglij produced and co-wrote the song (and blasts a harmonica in it, too), but give it some time. Leithauser has one of the best, most badass voices around today, and that scratchy yelling winds up fitting in nicely. I would say I’m hesitant to say I dig it, but then again it’s already stuck in my head. Let’s see how long it takes until it’s stuck in yours.

Watch the music video below (or footage from their last show if you’re already missin’ ’em):


Black Hours tracklist:
01 “5 AM”
02 “The Silent Orchestra”
03 “Alexandra”
04 “11 O’Clock Friday Night”
05 “St Mary’s County”
06 “Self Pity”
07 “I Retired”
08 “I Don’t Need Anyone”
09 “Bless Your Heart”
10 “The Smallest Splinter”
11 “Waltz” *
12 “In Our Time (I’ll Always Love You)” *
13 “Utrecht” *
14 “I’ll Never Love Again” *

* Deluxe Edition bonus track

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.