Blur Announce First New Album in 12 Years, Share “Go Out”

Blur Magic Whip

Damon Albarn has said time and time again that Gorillaz will reunite. Fans know to take his word with a grain of salt, but recently that proved to be true. Every promise of a new Blur album, though, seemed far more of a stretch given it’s been 12 years since their last album. Turns out Albarn, once again, wasn’t blowing smoke. The British icons behind “Song 2” and “Coffee & TV” are returning for real.

Their new album, The Magic Whip, drops April 27. It’s the band’s eighth album and their first since 2002’s Think Tank. In July of last year, Albarn said Blur did a recording session in Hong Kong but cut it short due to heat, saying, “There’s some great tunes on there, but it may just be one of those records that never comes out.” In a press conference in London today, however, Blur said the recordings sounded better than they remembered. Guitarist Graham Coxon brought the recordings to producer Stephen Street, got encouraging words to finish what they had started, and spent Christmastime back in the studio fleshing out lyrics. After all those wishes, a new Blur album is truly on the way. It’s a Christmas miracle.

They’ve shared the album’s first single, “Go Out.” What starts out with feedback quickly parts for funk-infused drums and bass and Albarn’s signature vocals. It’s hard not to get chills. Give it a listen below:

The Magic Whip Tracklist:
01. Lonesome Street
02. New World Towers
03. Go Out
04. Ice Cream Man
05. Thought I Was A Spaceman
06. I Broadcast
07. My Terracotta Heart
08. There Are Too Many Of Us
09. Ghost Ship
10. Pyongyang
11. Ong Ong
12. Mirrorball

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.