Sun Kil Moon Announces New Album, ‘Universal Themes’


Following the widely received release of Benji from 2014, singer-songwriter Mark Kozelek has announced that Sun Kil Moon will be putting out another addition to their catalogue early this summer. Universal Themes, which will consist of eight tracks, is scheduled to be released on June 2 via his own label, Caldo Verde.

The first single, entitled “The Possum,” was recorded in Hoboken, NJ and was released in November of last year. It featured nine minutes of witty narratives and Steve Shelley (Sonic Youth). A good portion of the album is reportedly also recorded in San Francisco. We aren’t given a lot here, but with Benji surpassing expectations a year ago, it is without a doubt that Kozelek possesses the ability to do the same.

Head below for Universal Themes‘ track list and “The Possum.”

Track list:
01. The Possum
02. Birds of Flims
03. With a Sort of Grace I Walked to the Bathroom to Cry
04. Garden of Lavender
05. Cry Me a River Williamsburg Sleeve Tattoo Blues
06. Ali/Spinks 2
07. Little Rascals
08. This Is My First Day and I’m Indian and I Work at a Gas Station

Dana Reandelar

If not hunched over her desk writing about music, Dana can be found binge-watching old episodes of Gilmore Girls or condensing long rants to 140 characters. She also writes for Idobi Radio, and is an Off The Record podcast contributor.
You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.