Kendrick Lamar Releases ‘To Pimp A Butterly’ A Week Early


It has only been about a week since Grammy award-winning recording artist Kendrick Lamar dropped hints as to when he was putting out his follow-up to the well-received Good Kid, m.A.A.d. city from 2012. Originally scheduled to be released next week, March 23, the sixteen-track effort, entitled To Pimp A Butterfly, became available digitally yesterday, March 15, to remedy supposed leaks that were already surfacing on the internet.

Although this may come as good news to those who have been eagerly awaiting his next material, Lamar’s representative, Anthony Tiffith, the CEO of Top Dawg Entertainment, was very unamused. You can check out what he had to say on Twitter below.

You can now purchase To Pimp A Butterlfly on iTunes or stream it over at Spotify. The track list is also listed below, along with the new album’s artwork. Let us know what you think.

To Pimp a Butterfly track list:
01 Wesley’s Theory (ft. George Clinton & Thundercat)
02 For Free? (Interlude)
03 King Kunta
04 Institutionalized (ft. Bilal, Anna Wise & Snoop Dogg)
05 These Walls (ft. Bilal, Anna Wise & Snoop Dogg)
06 U
07 Alright
08 For Sale? (Interlude)
09 Momma
10 Hood Politics
11 How Much A Dollar Cost (ft. James Fauntleroy & Ronald Isley)
12 Complexion (A Zulu Love) (ft. Rapsody)
13 The Blacker The Berry
14 You Ain’t Gotta Lie (Momma Said)
15 i
16 Mortal Man

Anthony Tiffith, CEO of Top Dawg Entertainment, shares his sentiments:

Dana Reandelar

If not hunched over her desk writing about music, Dana can be found binge-watching old episodes of Gilmore Girls or condensing long rants to 140 characters. She also writes for Idobi Radio, and is an Off The Record podcast contributor.
You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.