Ceremony Announce New Album, Debut Somber New Tracks


Ceremony is was a hardcore punk band from Rohnert Park, California. Their last album, 2012’s Zoo marked a shift from their chaotic early sound into a more controlled post-punk direction.

While Zoo was still energetic and undeniably punk (not to mention excellent), the band’s just-announced follow-up The L-Shaped Man represents an even more drastic transformation into pure Joy Division worship. I suppose this shouldn’t come as much of a surprise considering the band named itself after New Order’s debut single.

Anyway, the album’s somber tone was driven by the emotions of loss, pain, loneliness and heartbreak stemming from frontman Ross Farrar’s recent breakup. It hits stores on May 19, but you can stream two new songs, “The Separation” and “The Understanding,” and view the album’s New Order-inspired artwork below.


The L-Shaped Man Tracklist:
01. Hibernation
02. Exit Fears
03. Bleeder
04. Your Life In France
05. Your Life In America
06. The Separation
07. The Pattern
08. Root Of The World
09. The Party
10. The Bridge
11. The Understanding

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.