Archive for March 14th, 2012

This Providence Announce A New EP

This Providence have been off the radar for some time now. The band has been working on new music since 2010. Wait no further fans! David Blaise (bassist) of This Providence announce that the band will be releasing a EP in April, while talking on the Gunz Show. The EP will consist of four songs. […]

Jason Mraz - 2012

LYRIC VIDEO: Jason Mraz – “The Freedom Song”

Jason Mraz has, for the first time, decided to include a cover on his latest studio album, Love Is a Four Letter Word. Today we’ve got the lyric video for Jason’s cover of Luc Reynaud’s uplifting classic “The Freedom Song” here on UTG. The video was directed by Elliott Sellers and isn’t like the kinetic typography videos […]

PREVIEW: Make Me Famous – It’s Now Or Never

Make Me Famous are coming out with a new album on March 27th…and they have so graciously put up their full album up for preview! You can now check out the tracks off their upcoming record, It’s Now Or Never, right on their Youtube page. Like what you hear? You can pre-order a digital copy […]

O, Giant Man

MUSIC VIDEO: O, Giant Man – Party On A Mountain

Earlier this evening, Kansas City’s O, Giant Man released the first video from their upcoming Little Brother’s album. The video, which you can see inside, was directed by Chad Stephens and O, Giant Man’s own Christopher Robbins. Sans label, these boys have managed to create enough stir to warrant both a Daytrotter Session and SXSW […]

MIXTAPE: Benzi x Black Cards – Moodswing x Karmaloop SXSW

The Black Cards have collaborated with Benzi to release a new mixtape in light of the SXSW festival in Austin, Texas. There are 35 off the hook remixed tracks to jam to, windows down, by artists like David Guetta, Gotye, A$AP Rocky, and many more. You can see the tracklisting below and find the download […]

STREAM: I Hate Our Freedom – “Sans Sympathie”

I Hate Our Freedom (ex-members of Thursday and Texas is the Reason) released a new single today called “Sans Sympathie” which will be coming out on their next release This Year’s Best Disaster on March 23. This song has a really awesome vibe to it, and you can hear the definite influences from both of the […]

REVIEW: Kaiser Chiefs – Start The Revolution Without Me

Artist: Kaiser Chiefs Album: Start the Revolution Without Me Genre: Indie rock Label: Fiction (Polydor), Universal Music Group It’s been a while since I crossed paths with the Kaiser Chiefs. One of my abiding memories from Fifth Year in school is how dangerous it was to be on a nightclub dancefloor (or a disco dancefloor, […]

Warped Tour Announces More Main Stage Bands

Vans Warped Tour announced today eight more bands for their summer long festival, and they are: Four Year Strong, Yellowcard, We The Kings, Anti-Flag, Streetlight Manifesto, Pierce The Veil, Of Mice & Men, and Falling In Reverse. This year’s Warped Tour is proving to be another great summer for punk and alternative music, and if you […]

REVIEW: Sharks – No Gods

Artist: Sharks Album: No Gods Genre: Punk rock Label: Rise Records, Velvet Scene Sharks seem possessed of a profoundly disaffected outlook which belies their position at the vanguard of contemporary British punk rock. No Gods is their first full-length, after a wave of well-received EPs and singles which have allowed them to build up a […]

Basement Members Start New Side Project

Members of the UK emo-punk band Basement have started a new side project called The November Group. The new band includes 3 members of Basement, who show their wide range of musical talent in the new band, abandoning the raw, aggressive sound that helped propel Basement’s popularity and creating a new, more ambient sound. The […]

MIXTAPE: Wiz Khalifa – Taylor Allderdice

After months of anticipated, Wiz Khalifa has released his first mixtape of 2012. Titled Taylor Allderdice and featuring artwork that is a clear departure from his earlier works, the latest mixtape from Wiz Rick Ross, Amber Rose, Juicy J, Chevy Woods, Smoke DZA and Lola Monroe. Production by Cardo, Sledgren, Big Jerm, Harry Fraud, Lex […]

REVIEW: Epica – Requiem for the Indifferent

Artist: Epica Album: Requiem for the Indifferent Genre: Symphonic/progressive metal Label: Nuclear Blast Female-fronted symphonic metal (my chosen umbrella term) is a curiously European thing, and one with an ardent cult following. Nightwish are the undisputed masters, with Within Temptation continuously snapping at their heels. Yet, Epica have for many years been the thinking fan’s […]