David Bowie To Release First Album In A Decade, Streams “Where Are We Now?”

David Bowie

David Bowie is a rare artist to have had hits in three different decades, with “Space Oddity” coming in the 60s, and the bulk of his hits coming in the 70s and 80s. His most memorable work from the 90s is probably  “I’m Afraid of Americans”, which featured Trent Reznor in the music video. Now, Bowie (who may have even gained some popularity since then thanks to his parody on Flight of the Conchords) has released his first single of this decade, “Where Are We Now?”.

“Where Are We Now?” comes off an album planned for a March album titled The Next Day, which will be his first release since 2003. The song is a slow piano ballad, but very classic Bowie. Today is his birthday, too, and perhaps that is why the single has come today. The dude is sixty six; even space oddities grow old. Wish him a happy birthday and let us know your thoughts on the song in the comments; the song stream and full album track listing are here after the break.

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=FOyDTy9DtHQ]

1. The Next Day
2. Dirty Boys
3. The Stars (Are Out Tonight)
4. Love is Lost
5. Where Are We Now?
6. Valentine’s Day
7. If You Can See Me
8. I’d Rather Be High
9. Boss of Me
10. Dancing Out in Space
11. How Does the Grass Grow?
12. (You Will) Set the World on Fire
13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die
14. Heat

Bonus tracks:

15. So She
16. I’ll Take You There
17. Plan

Dan Bogosian

I finished school with a music theory degree. Before I finished school, I was a janitor. You really should apologize to all the janitors you've ever had. You hurt them. Seriously. You did.

But, now that we've cleared that up and you called your high school janitor, know that I quit being a janitor to pursue writing about music. So here I am, and here you are, and hey how are you?
You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.