Speedy Ortiz Announce New Album ‘Foil Deer,’ Share Accompanying Comic

Speedy Ortiz

Speedy Ortiz are returning with a new full-length. The Massachusetts indie noisemakers, who’ve had a breakout of sorts with Major Arcana and the Real Hair EP over the last two years, will be returning with Foil Deer on April 21. The album will be put out by Carpark Records.

Accompanying the album’s announcement, along with your standard cover art and tracklist, is this prophetic comic by artist Michael DeForge. This shows us how Foil Deer by Speedy Ortiz will transform the world in centuries to come. Just as it will transcend its status as a music recording, so too shall we transcend our humanity. It’s a classic tale.

This leaves only one (important) question unanswered: how do we stop it? The prognosticators were clearly correct about the death of the album, and damn it if I won’t be on the front lines, fighting the dying of this light.

The recording of Foil Deer was a departure for the band. After recording Major Arcana on the go, Speedy Ortiz spent almost a month working on its follow-up in the studio, and this after leader Sadie Dupuis wrote the album at her mother’s isolated Connecticut home.

Per the press release:

“I gave up wasting mental energy on people who didn’t have my back,” [Dupuis] says. “Listening to our old records, I get the sense I was putting myself in horrible situations just to write sad songs. This music isn’t coming from a dark place, and without slipping into self-empowerment jargon, it feels stronger.”

speedy ortiz

Foil Deer tracklist:
1. Good Neck
2. Raising The Skate
3. The Graduates
4. Dot X
5. Homonovus
6. Puffer
7. Swell Content
8. Zig
9. My Dead Girl
10. Ginger
11. Mister Difficult
12. Dvrk Wvrld

Tyler Hanan

Tyler raves about movies on the Let The Right Films In podcast. Listen to him make jokes over his beleaguered cohost Kayla St. Onge and their more qualified guests who deserve so much better at soundcloud.com/ltrfipod. Find him on Twitter @tylerhanan.
Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.