Korn Sign to Roadrunner Records


New York, NY: Roadrunner Records announced today the worldwide signing of multi-platinum, genre-defining hard rock band Korn to the label. Korn III – Remember Who You Are is the band’s ninth album overall and their first album for their new label. It was produced by Ross Robinson, who also manned the boards for the band’s explosively definitive self-titled 1994 debut, as well as the follow up, 1996’s Life is Peachy.

Bursting onto and instantly dominating the hard rock scene in 1994, Korn have proven to be one of the pre-eminent bands in the world, as well as one of the most influential and significant bands on the hard rock musical landscape for the past two decades.

“We called this record Korn III – Remember Who You Are because it really feels like a return to that attitude we had on the first two records,” bassist Fieldy said. “And when it came to putting this record out, we could not think of anyone better to help us than Roadrunner, the only label that even understands rock music anymore.”

Fieldy also checked in from the band’s current tour, taking time to greet fans while the band was trekking around the snowy Alaskan terrain.

Over the course of eight releases, Korn have sold over 30 million albums worldwide, inspiring a disciple-like devotion among their fanbase along the way. Korn also notched six Grammy nominations and have won two; one for Best Short Form Music Video for “Freak on a Leash” from 1998’s Follow the Leader, as well as one for Best Metal Performance for “Here to Stay” from 2002’s Untouchables. They have also been nominated for nine MTV VMAs, having picked up two wins for “Best Rock Video” and “Best Editing” for “Freak on a Leash.” Korn also launched their own massively successful touring festival, “The Family Values Tour.”

It’s beyond evident that Korn are one of a kind and have secured a firm place in the history of rock ‘n’ roll, thanks to their signature blend of twisted, throbbing guitar riffs, syncopated chaotic funk beats, a schizophrenic bass thump and an unmistakable cathartic howl.

Korn’s current lineup is Jonathan Davis (vocals), Fieldy (bass), James “Munky” Shaffer (guitar) and Ray Luzier (drums).

Korn III – Remember Who You Are retains that savage, raw energy that made Korn such a crucial fixture to an entire generation of diehard fans.

The band will spend the summer headlining the third annual Rock Star Energy Drink Mayhem Festival. They will also embark on a South American run, as well as headline the Jagermeister Music Tour in America beforehand.

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.