ALBUM STREAM: Neil Young – ‘A Letter Home’

Neil Young has always been incredibly influential in music. And getting in the studio with Third Man Records owner Jack White certainly continues to show that. The two have been working together in Nashville on Young’s most recent work, a covers album called A Letter Home. It is now available to stream in its entirety, thanks to Huffington Post.

Of course, if you’ve kept up with the news about this album, you know that it was recorded in a 1940s-era Voice-o-Graph recording booth, that makes the record sound as if it was recorded in an old-fashioned analog, lo-fi sound. The record will also allow for you to acquire a high-quality mp3 of a lo-fi record. Young explains, “You can make a lo-fi, analog record, direct to vinyl, transfer it to 192, and you have a high res copy of a lo-fi vinyl record.” This is good news for audiophiles and digital music fans alike. There will also be a deluxe box set, with two different vinyl versions, a DVD featuring footage of the recording process, a 32-page booklet and seven 6-inch clear records, which includes a non-album version of a Bob Dylan song, “Blowin in the Wind.”

This is definitely something to grab a physical copy of. Check out the track list below, and make sure to listen to the stream via Huffington Post. Also check out Neil Young performing “Crazy,” from the album, on Jimmy Fallon below.

A Letter Home Tracklist:
01. A Letter Home Intro
02. “Changes” (Phil Ochs)
03. “Girl From The North Country” (Bob Dylan)
04. “Needle of Death” (Bert Jansch)
05. “Early Morning Rain” (Gordon Lightfoot)
06. “Crazy” (Willie Nelson)
07. “Reason to Believe” (Tim Hardin)
08. “On The Road Again” (Willie Nelson)
09. “If You Could Only Read My Mind” (Gordon Lightfoot)
10. “Since I Met You Baby” (Ivory Joe Hunter)
11. “My Hometown” (Bruce Springsteen)
12. “I Wonder If I Care As Much” (Everly Brothers)

Corey From
Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.