Parkay Quarts Announce New Album ‘Content Nausea,’ Stream New Song

Parkay Quarts Content Nausea

Parquet Courts are back with a new release, and they’re changing things up along with it. The Queens, NY indie punk four piece have undergone a homophonic name shift to Parkay Quarts to coincide with one member completing a degree in mathematics and another starting a family, seeing Andrew Savage and Austin Brown work alongside two friends (Jackie-O Motherf*cker’s Jef Brown on Saxaphone and Eaters’ Bob Jones on fiddle) in their place.

The release, titled Content Nausea, is a 12-track LP that clocks in at 35 minutes and is Parkay Quarts’ second release of 2014. As such, it dials back on the emotion of Sunbathing Animal to conjure up slower tracks for winter that still recall early punk. The Dylan and Townes Van Zandt influences are prevalent, especially on their flippant cover of Nancy Sinatra’s “These Boots Are Made for Walking” (which Savage says is “a personal karaoke standard”).

Give “Uncast Shadow of a Southern Myth” a listen below for a taste of what’s to come:

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.