The Books’ Paul de Jong Announces Debut Solo Album ‘IF,’ Streams “Auction Block”

When The Books broke up in 2012, an era came to an end. The collage-pop duo of guitarist Nick Zammuto and cellist Paul de Jong had invented a magical, comforting, mashup of strings and found sounds, creating the type of music that is as perplexing as it is educational. Since then, Zammuto has gone on to release two solo albums. De Jong, on the other hand, stayed relatively quiet. Today, he says, “it’s time to come up for air.”

Paul de Jong has announced his debut solo album at long last. The album, titled IF, drops April 28 via Temporary Residence. In anticipation of its release, he has shared an album trailer that shows mashed-up video footage alongside his gorgeous stringwork. Additionally, de Jong has shared the lead single, “Auction Block.” The single lets piano and cello pool on the bottom before joyous, energetic vocals come darting in, splicing up an otherwise medatative sound. It should come as no surprise that after all this time, Paul de Jong’s solo debut is a brilliant, jovial, smooth product that lets his genius shine.

Check out the album preview, tracklist, and “Auction Block” below:

IF tracklist:
01 Auction Block
02 Hollywald
03 This Is Who I Am
04 IF
05 Golden Gate
06 Debt Free
07 Baxter @ 73
08 Snakes
09 Age of the Sea
10 Purpose
11 The Art of What
12 Troia

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.