New Found Glory – Not Without A Fight

Artist: New Found Glory
Album: Not Without A Fight
Genre: Pop Punk
Label: Epitaph


1. Right Where We Left Off 
2. Don’t Let Her Pull You Down 
3. Listen To Your Friends 
4. 47 
5. Truck Stop Blues 
6. Tangled Up 
7. I’ll Never Love Again 
8. Reasons 
9. Such A Mess 
10. Heartless At Best
11. This Isn’t You 
12. Don’t Let This Be The End 

You know what time of year it is? That’s right, it’s the time of year when pop punk starts hurling itself at us with release after release of newcomers and some legends in this still relatively fresh genre. It’s starting to look like 2009 may be the best year for this process in recent years. The race for summer anthem is on and scene kings New Found Glory have thrown 12 near perfect tracks into the ring with their new album Not Without a Fight.

From the first saliva inducing riff of, “Right Where We Left Off,” it is clear all wannabes best step out of the way. The relaxed sounds we found on Coming Home are nowhere to be found on this disc and it’s very clear from the get go. The typical topics of relationships [good and bad] is covered here – a lot, but it all feels fresh. the band seems rejuvenated with a new passion for this style of music. Early on, the writing style of, “It’s Not Your Fault,” returns on the intensely memorable, “Listen To Your Friends.” This song has the catchiest pre chorus I’ve heard in years. No lie, it’s been in my head for weeks. “47,”  a song about trying to reach the one you love, seems a bit amateurish in the lyrics department, but there’s something about them that radiates nineties top 40. There is also something that needs to be said about, “Truck Stop Blues,”: which beckons back to the group’s early albums. The beat is music is quick and raw, but it has that mature twist that helps it really stick with you.

The back half of the disc is a well played mesh of the places NFG has been over the years. “I’ll Never Love You,” sounds a lot like, “King of Wishful Thinking,” [yes, I know that’s a cover, but the structure is very reminiscent], while, “Reasons,” mixes Catalyst era NFG with a tinge of Coming Home. I found a real passion for, “Heatless at Best.” It simply takes everything great about pop punk and gives it to you with genius production [thanks to Blink 182’s Mark Hoppus]. The labum then closes on a solid note with the instantly catchy, “Don’t Let This Be The End,” which, unfortunately for the album, is just that.

It’s been about three years without a full length from New Found Glory, but Not Without A Fight shows the band is still throwing some hefty punches. Aside from some lyrical shortcomings, this disc is gorgeous. Even the layout and art are something to be taken in. Bravo NFG, but seriously, don’t stay away so long this time!

*Written By: James Shotwell*
Score: 9.5/10


James Shotwell
Latest posts by James Shotwell (see all)
Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.