Eels’ Frontman Shares “Agatha Chang” Off Very Personal Solo Album

Alt-rock group Eels‘ frontman Mark Oliver Everett announced a little while ago that he would be releasing the very personal The Cautionary Tales of Mark Oliver Everett. According to a press release, the 13-track LP is an “extraordinarily vivid and intimate document of a personal struggle,” and now we get a taste of it with single “Agatha Chang.”

Quiet and strikingly open, there is little to nothing present apart from Everett’s acoustic guitar and deep vocals. As with anyone who sings about stinging regret and lost love, it gets pretty emotional.

The Cautionary Tales of Mark Oliver Everett is due out April 22 via Everett’s E Works and also comes out with a deluxe bonus disc with unreleased material and live tracks. You can see both tracklists below after the stream:

The Cautionary Tales of Mark Oliver Everett Tracklist:
01. Where I’m At
02. Parallels
03. Lockdown Hurricane
04. Agatha Chang
05. A Swallow in the Sun
06. Where I’m From
07. Series of Misunderstandings
08. Kindred Spirit
09. Gentleman’s Choice
10. Dead Reckoning
11. Answers
12. Mistakes of My Youth
13. Where I’m Going

Deluxe Edition Bonus Disc:
01. To Dig It
02. Lonely Lockdown Hurricane
03. Bow Out
04. A Good Deal
05. Good Morning Bright Eyes
06. Millicent Don’t Blame Yourself
07. Thanks I Guess
08. On The Ropes (LIVE WNYC)
09. Accident Prone (LIVE WNYC)
10. I’m Your Brave Little Soldier (LIVE WNYC)
11. Fresh Feeling (LIVE KCRW)
12. Trouble With Dreams (LIVE KCRW)
13. Oh Well (LIVE KCRW)

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.