Modest Mouse Are Reissuing Their First Two Albums

Modest Mouse have finally announced the release of an album – actually, two albums. Neither is the one they’ve been working on for a few years, though. They are reissues of the first two full-lengths, This Is a Long Drive for Someone With Nothing to Think About and The Lonesome Crowded West.

This move is unsurprising, given the reissues of The Moon & AntarcticaThe Fruit That Ate Itself, and Sad Sappy Sucker released over the last few years. These new reissues will be released by Isaac Brock’s Glacial Pace Recordings and Fat Possum. Accompanying each album is a 7″ full of songs from the album’s recording sessions.

“White Lies, Yellow Teeth” (which you can hear below) and “Buttons to Push the Buttons” will grace the  Long Drive 7″; “Too Many Fiestas for Rueben” and “Cowboy Dan” will be on The Lonesome Crowded West‘s. Per Pitchfork, that version of “Cowboy Dan” was recorded in Olympia with Calvin Johnson. These songs aren’t new to aficionados – they’ve been floating around for a while – but they’ve never been officially released before now.

Long Drive will be released on October 28. The Lonesome Crowded West will be released November 4. Glacial Pace also has a package available that includes all four of its Modest Mouse reissues (The Moon & Antarctica not included). Listen to “White Listen, Yellow Teeth” below, and catch up with what few tour dates the band has.

09/17 –  El Paso, TX @ El Paso County Coliseum
09/19 Monterrey, Mexico @ Hellow Festival
09/23 Pioneertown, CA @ Pappy & Harriets
09/24 Paso Robles, CA @ Vina Robles Amphitheatre
09/26 San Francisco, CA @ The Masonic
09/28 Portland, OR @ Project Pabst @ Zidell Yards
11/08 Austin, TX @ Fun Fun Fun Fest

Tyler Hanan
Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.