She & Him Share ‘Classics’ Details, Stream “Stay Awhile” (Dusty Springfield Cover)

she & him classics

She & Him recently lit up the blogosphere when they announced that their next studio album, to be titled Classics, would be hitting shelves by the end of the year, and now thanks to a stream provided by the group, we know it’s something to actually get excited about.

The duo (which is composed of Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward) have chosen Dusty Springfield’s 1964 hit “Stay Awhile” as the lead single for this covers album, and have posted it to their website. Conveniently enough for you, we have the track streaming below the jump, along with the tracklist and artwork for the record.

We think the single does a great job at hinting that we’re in for more than just a simple collection of renditions, but instead some completely re-imagined tracks that shine true to both S&M and the original artists as well. Classics will be released on December 2 through Columbia Records and can be pre-ordered through the group’s website.

She and Him Classics

01 “Stars Fell On Alabama”
02 “Oh No, Not My Baby”
03 “It’s Not For Me To Say”
04 “Stay Awhile”
05 “This Girl’s In Love With You”
06 “Time After Time”
07 “She”
08 “Teach Me Tonight”
09 “It’s Always You”
10 “Unchained Melody” (Feat. The Chapin Sisters)
11 “I’ll Never Be Free”
12 “Would You Like To Take A Walk?”
13 “We’ll Meet Again”

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.