I See Stars – 3D

Artist: I See Stars2022482
Album: 3D
Genre:  Synth Rock/Hardcore
Label: Sumerian

1. Project Wake Up
2. The Common Hours
3. 3D
4. Save the Cheerleader
5. The Big Bad Wolf
6. I am Jack’s Smirking Revenge
7. Comfortably Confused
8. Where The Sidewalk Ends
9. Sing This!
10. The Ocean
11. What This Means To Me

I will go out on a limb here and say that 2009 is the year of Michigan bands. We’ve already had solid releases from Fireworks and Hellmouth, but I don’t know if either compare to I See Stars debut, 3D. If you put Chiodos, 4 dancecore acts (breathe carolina, etc.), and an appearance from Bizzy Bone into a blender, you would find yourself holding a smoothie that can destroy people. Move over synth laced heavy acts, theirs young blood on the market and they’re going to have you running for your life.

Kicking things off in high gear with, “Project Wake Up,” I See Stars makes it clear they’re out to conquer the scene. Swirling, near Forever The Sickest Kids type synth rhythm is met with chugging guitars and a hurricane of clean pop vocals meshed with brutal screams. Though, it’s not until, “The Common Hours,” that the band really find their niche. What would that be? To me, it’s their ability to take seemingly 6 chunks of songs and throw them together into one crushing tune. Everything fits, but could very well be filled out into its own respectable song. Everything continues to go solid with the more pop based, “3D,” and then the albums golden goose comes around. “Save The Cheerleader,” an old track brought back for this release has been redone and simply shatters all preconceived notions of the group. The vocals soar and the screams scrape the gutter. It’s a range that you’d be hard pressed to find anywhere else and I’m sure people will eat it up.

As the record moves on, you may, like I, begin to fear this band pulled out all their big guns early on, but I assure you that’s not the case. “I Am Jack’s Smirking Revenge” contains one of the group’s most we’ll structured lyrical works while, “Where the Sidewalk Ends” keeps you bracing to enter the pit. The real offsetting track is the simply titled, “Sing This” which features Bizzy Bone of Bone Thugs-N-Harmony. I know it sounds strange, but it actually works pretty well. The track itself is one of the most pop oriented songs I think the group has ever done, but with a lightning fast time speed and the well fitting guest spot, it’s hard to hate on it. In fact, we should applaud the group for taking such a musical turn in a scene where most will likely shun it up front.

Following “Sing This,” we are given a pretty forgettable instrumental track and the closer. Closing the record is, “What This Means To Me” which gives us a solid last dance with the group, but to be honest, is one of the album’s weaker tracks.

By the time I finished, “3D” for the first time I knew I’d just heard something great. For a debut album in this scene, I don’t think anyone could have asked for more. I See Stars have brought their “A” game and hit it out the park on their first try. Bravo boys, bravo.

*Written By: James Shotwell*
Score: 8.5/10

James Shotwell
Latest posts by James Shotwell (see all)
Both comments and pings are currently closed.

One Response to “I See Stars – 3D”

  1. Nijel says:

    GREAT debut, couldn’t agree with your review more!