First Impressions: He Is Legend – It Hates You

First Impressions is a segment where we let you into our early thoughts on a highly anticipated album, This week, we have our early views on He Is Legend’s It Hates You. It drops July 21st, 2009 on Tragic Hero Records.


I’ve always had an awkward relationship with Schuyler and the boys of He Is Legend. I missed the initial boat of thier big debut record I Am Hollywood and really fell in love with it right before the sequel Suck Out The Poison was released. The evolution from nearly straight hardcore on the first record to the last was stunning. The songs slowed and scale rose while Schuyler let screaming take a backseat to storytelling and singing. Now, the group has reemerged once more, this time on Tragic Hero Records, for their most rock driven record to date. It Hates You has a lot of angst and even more refined storytelling than the previous record and all with nearly no screaming whatsoever. Schuyler has taken his voice to a place the often defines a rock band, if not an entire genre. His range soars and the band’s tightness is impeccable. “Cult of She” feels like the next big fan favorite as it straddles the line between Southern metal and straight in your face rock while, “Future’s Bright Man” see the group taking their most daring attempts at an epic song yet. Though their 3 records [technically 4] into their career, I don’t think He Is Legend have ever sounded as fresh as they do here. They’ve reinvented the wheel without selling their souls to do so. It’s more mainstream, yet still very much underground. It Hates You may just be the next great rock record. Not just for the scene, but for rock and roll everywhere.

James Shotwell
Latest posts by James Shotwell (see all)
Both comments and pings are currently closed.

4 Responses to “First Impressions: He Is Legend – It Hates You”

  1. Chris Bossom says:

    Yes!!! I didn’t need this to be stoked, but it certainly helps increase my excitement. My favorite band.

  2. Allan Flores says:

    The most expected release of the year!!!
    Wilmington Rock n’ Roll Boys quartet that really make the river taste like whiskey, I’m trying to relax… but I will only settle down when I listen to full album.

  3. urbaitis says:

    soooooo stoked for this record.

  4. Abel Mcmutry says:

    I don’t agree with everything in this posting, but you do make some very good points. I’m very interested in this subject matter and I myself do alot of research as well. Either way it was a well thoughtout and nice read so I figured I would leave you a comment. Feel free to check out my website sometime and let me know what you think.